The Squares of Savannah

Posted on February 15, 2012 by

Anyone who has seen the movie “Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil” won’t be disappointed with the real thing. The original four Savannah open squares were laid out starting in 1769 and originally intended to provide colonists space for military excercises. Luckily the plan anticipated growth in the city and has expanded into the twenty four today. Most of Savannah’s squares are named in honor or in memory of a person or persons of interest or historical event and many contain tributes, including monuments, markers, statues and plaques.

  1. Franklin Square
  2. Ellis Square
  3. Johnson Square
  4. Reynolds Square
  5. Warren Square
  6. Washington Square
  7. Greene Square
  8. Columbia Square
  9. Oglethorpe Square
  10. Wright Square
  11. Telfair Square
  12. Orleans Square
  13. Chippewa Square
  14. Crawford Square
  15. Troup Square
  16. Lafayette Square
  17. Madison Square
  18. Pulaski Square
  19. Chatham Square
  20. Monterey Square
  21. Calhoun Square
  22. Monterey Square
  23. Calhoun Square
  24. Whitefield Square