Posted on May 5, 2014 by Andrea Six
Located at 500 E. Broad St. is a park honoring Mother Beasley, the first African-American nun in the state of Georgia, who founded the St. Francis Home for Colored Orphans which opened in 1887. One of the first features was the Beasley Dog Park in the spring of 2008. The entire park is fenced in and this portion is as well, so anyone can bring their furry friend for a puppy pow wow.
The park also boasts a baseball diamond and a large field perfect for soccer and football games. Next to the field is the pavilion, which opened in the spring of 2012, and two playgrounds. This is the spot kids take over on weekends for birthday parties and families often visit for a barbeques.